Congressional Aluminum Caucus


About the Congressional Aluminum Caucus

In August of 2013, Representatives Larry Bucshon (R-IN), Suzan DelBene (D-WA), Bill Johnson (R-OH) and Bill Owens (D-NY-Retired), formed the bipartisan Congressional Aluminum Caucus. Owens retired at the end of the 113th Congress. The Caucus serves as an excellent forum to raise awareness of the U.S. aluminum industry and every aspect of the metal’s production and use – from mining to manufacture to recycling.

A caucus is a forum formed by members of Congress so they can discuss specific issues or agenda items.  There are many types of caucuses, ranging from political party to specific interest. The Congressional Aluminum Caucus is an interest group caucus where members discuss issues facing the aluminum industry.

Purpose of the Congressional Aluminum Caucus

The modern aluminum industry has been a vital part of the American manufacturing sector for more than 100 years and is a key material for the 21st century.  In fact, aluminum is used in literally hundreds of applications from aluminum cans to football stadiums to airplane parts.

With facilities in nearly every Congressional district, the aluminum industry supports more than half a million American jobs and contributes $152 billion in economic activity nationwide, nearly 1 percent of US GDP.

The Congressional Aluminum Caucus focuses on telling this story and educates key federal policy makers about critical issues facing the industry.

Congressional Aluminum Caucus Membership

The co-sponsors are:

Rep. Larry Bucshon 

Rep. Suzan DelBene 

Rep. Bill Johnson 

Rep. Dave Loebsack

Additional membership:

Andy Barr (R-KY) Rick Larsen (D-WA)
Marsha Blackburn (R-TN) Alan Lowenthal (D-CA)
Mo Brooks (R-AL) David McKinley (R-WV)
Cheri Bustos (D-IL) Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA)
Earl L. ‘Buddy’ Carter (R-GA) Tim Murphy (R-PA)
Matt Cartwright (R-PA) Tom Reed (R-NY)
Doug Collins (R-GA) Dave Reichert (R-WA)
Rick Crawford (R-AR) Phil Roe (R-TN)
Charlie Dent (R-PA) Todd Rokita (R-IN)
Scott DesJarlais (R-TN) Keith Rothfus (R-PA)
Bob Dold (R-IL) Tim Ryan (D-OH)
Mike Doyle (D-PA) Adam Smith (D-WA)
Elizabeth Esty (D-CT) Jason Smith (R-MO)
Blake Farenthold (R-TX) Elise Stefanik (R-NY)
Stephen Fincher (R-TN) Pat Tiberi (R-OH)
Brett Guthrie (R-KY) Pete Visclosky (D-IN)
Janice Hahn (D-CA) Jackie Walorski (R-IN)
David Joyce (R-OH) Mimi Walters (R-CA)
Marcy Kaptur (D-OH) Ed Whitfield (R-KY)
Mike Kelly (R-PA) John Yarmuth (D-KY)




May 2, 2016
Ebner Furnaces, GMB Group, Penny Plate, TSI, Inc. and SciAps 
April 20, 2016
Report Finds Industry Supports 712,000 Jobs and $186 Billion in Economic Outpu