Boultinghouse Award | The Aluminum Association

Boultinghouse Award

Established by the Aluminum Association Board of Directors in October 1998, the annual Marlan T. Boultinghouse Service Award is the highest award given by the North American industry and honors those who have not only had distinguished careers within a member company, but also have provided their talents to improve the broader industry. The award is presented in memory of late ARCO Aluminum, Inc. President Marlan T. Boultinghouse.  Boultinghouse brought energy and enthusiasm to the industry through his advocacy of aluminum marketing and the many technical programs he helped to advance.

The award is presented each year at the Aluminum Association Annual Meeting.



An individual must meet the following criteria to be nominated:

  • Nominee’s company is a member in good standing with the Aluminum Association.
  • Nominee has served on an Association division, committee, task force or other organized group within the Aluminum Association for three or more years


Evaluation Criteria

Nominations will be evaluated by the Boultinghouse Selection Committee on the following criteria

  • Nominee has served the Association “with distinction” for three or more years.
  • Nominee provides leadership to the Association, whether as chair or member of a committee, division, etc.
  • Nominee has demonstrated leadership in helping the Association achieve its mission.
  • The nominee’s leadership, talents and expertise have advanced Association programs and services over time.



Any member company representative or any member of the Aluminum Association staff may nominate an individual to receive the Marlan Boultinghouse Award.

The winner will be announced at the Aluminum Association Annual Meeting.


To nominate someone please complete our nomination form here 


Past Winners

2019 - Mike Belwood, Arconic 2018 - Ken Willings, Aleris
2017 - Mark Eliopulos, Kaiser 2015 - Mike Palazzolo,  Alcoa
2014 - Mike Zoll, Novelis 2013 - Doug Richman, Kaiser
2012 - Ken Martchek, Alcoa 2011 - Stephen Williamson, ARCO Aluminum
2010 - Russell Wisor, Alcoa 2009 - Robert Longnecker, KB Alloys
2008 - David Oberholtzer, Valimet  2007 - Craig Covert, Alcoa
2006 - Homer Cole, Alcoa 2005 - Michael Finucane, Nichols Aluminum
2004 - Steven Fehling, Alcan  2003 - Robert Hubbard, IMCO Recycling
2002 - Robert Kazmier, Alcoa & Reynolds 2001 - Bernard Leber, Kaiser and Chemical Corp. 
2000 - George Hsu, Reynolds 1999 - Dr. Michael Wheeler, Alcan



September 17, 2021
Department of Commerce Finds Aluminum Foil from Five Countries Is Unfairly Traded 
July 29, 2021
Electric Grid Modernization, Clean Energy Transition, Transportation Investment Vital; More Needed...